Academician Eugen Rusu, Director of CSUD, is the only Romanian included in the European Academies Science Advisory Council (EASAC) Science Advisory Panels. The nomination was made by the Romanian Academy, which proposed Professor Eugen Rusu for the EASAC Energy Steering Panel.

 This nomination is supported by Professor Dorel Banabic, President of the Technical Sciences Section of the Romanian Academy, and Professor Marius Andruh, Vice-President of the Romanian Academy, and member of the EASAC Council.

The Council's confirmation came recently: "We are delighted to receive your nomination from the Romanian Academy to join the EASAC Energy Steering Committee, and I am pleased to inform you that it has been accepted," replied Dr. William Gillett, Director of the EASAC Energy Programme.

The Science Advisory Council of the European Academies is an authoritative voice of science advisors in the EU and comprises 29 national science academies of the member countries. EASAC has three panels: Biosciences, Energy, and Environment, which include internationally renowned scientists.